Eminem-Homophobia; what’s his deal?

January 12, 2010 at 6:45 am (queerspawn) (, , , , )

A friend pointed out that between the various posts I seem to have tackled the subject of homophobia and hip hop. This is not a first for me, freshman year in college I wrote a rap entitled “homophobia is wack” for a obligatory expository writing class. In said rap I proclaimed that MC’s could definitely lose the homophobia and still be cool. “Naw, it’s part of hip hop culture,” my friend counters. But Kanye ( before the no-homo bit) had said he’s not a homophobe and everyone liked him(until the taylor siwft thing) and the jury is still out on Lil’ Wayne, right ? (see previous post)
And then there’s Eminem. Up until now i’ve considered him too ridiculous to even worry about. I didn’t buy his albums, didn’t lose much sleep over it. I don’t care whether he’s serious or not, as much as I don’t really want to listen to him talking shit about fags. Sample lyrics in “Kill You”: “You faggots keep eggin’ me on/til I have you at knifepoint, then you beg me to stop?/SHUT UP! Give me your hands and feet/I said SHUT UP when I’m talkin’ to you/YOU HEAR ME? ANSWER ME!”. I can live without it. But my friend is a fan and the more I was forced to listen in his car the more confusing Eminem became. The dude is way gay. A internet search reveals lots of people believe him to be a closet case. On his album Relapse, Homo-erotic ennuendo abound. I hear his newest release- Refill is even gayer. What’s his deal? Self-hating? On Relapse, he talks about being molested- who knows seriously or not. I know some homophobes who got molested as kids and have turn their worry over that making them gay into prejudice. In the end I care much less about what his personal feelings are and more about what effect all this might have on the fourteen year olds listening to it. On the other hand I listened to Nine Inch Nails talking about I wanna fuck you like an animal and I didnt become a deviant right? oh wait.

1 Comment

  1. Mr. Bojangles said,

    you based your whole argument on the song “Kill You”…that song was released in the year 2000. get some new material Mr. “homophobia is wack”..

Leave a Reply

